Mohegan Sun

News & Awards

In the exhibitions and events industry, it is important to show recognition of a job well done. Below you will find IAEE news and resources, along with information on our Woman of Achievement award and how to enter.



Thank you to the 2021 Women’s Leadership Committee

    • Chairperson: Julie Cerza, CEM, Nations Best Sports
    • Immediate Past-Chairperson: Ann Olson, CEM, GES
    • Noreen Burke, CEM, Corcoran Expositions Inc.
    • Stephanie Didier, GES
    • Meghan Jackson, CEM, AVIXA
    • Robin Murphy, Experient, a Maritz Global Events Company
    • Shauna Peters, CEM, mdg
    • Melissa Peticolas, Vista Convention Services
    • Joyce Russell, Visit Indy
    • Pennie Stathes, CEM, Exposition Development Company, Inc.
    • April Walsh, Freeman
    • Board Liaison: Justine McVaney, National Association of Broadcasters


IAEE Woman of Achievement 

Congratulations to Nancy Walsh, the IAEE 2020 Woman of Achievement Award Recipient

The IAEE Woman of Achievement Award was presented at the 2020 virtually-held Women’s Leadership Forum to Nancy Walsh, President of the Fashion Portfolio for Informa Markets.  IAEE’s Woman of Achievement Award recognizes one woman each year who has exhibited outstanding leadership and has made significant contributions to the industry and her community. IAEE congratulates Nancy on this great accomplishment.


News & Awards

The industry has so women doing great things and setting high standards of excellence in their professional roles. Join us in celebrating their accomplishments and success!

Congratulations to Cathy Breden, CMP, CAE, CEM, IAEE’s EVP/COO

IAEE announced the selection of Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer Cathy Breden, CMP, CAE, CEM as 2021 Chair Elect of the Events Industry Council (EIC). In this role, she will also serve as Treasurer and will move forward as EIC Chair in 2022. Breden has served on the EIC board of directors since 2017 and has also served as chair of the 2016-2017 Research Committee and on the 2010 CMP board.


Congratulations to Susan Schwartz, CEM – IAEE 2020 Legend of the Industry

IAEE announced the selection of Susan Schwartz, CEM as its 2020 Legend of the Industry. Each year, the Legend of the Industry is selected from IAEE members whose contributions, innovation and leadership have been truly unique and remarkable.



Bob Dallmeyer Education Fund Award Recipients

IAEE announced the 2020 recipients of the Bob Dallmeyer Education Fund Grant. The Bob Dallmeyer Education Fund supports exhibitions and events industry education and professional development by providing a challenging and engaging educational experience for young professionals, professionals new to the exhibitions and events industry, those that are intellectually curious about trends and opportunities, and those that are interested in learning about the global marketplace.

These women were selected because of their passion and commitment to enhancing their professional skills and we are proud to recognize and reward these individuals for their ongoing pursuit of excellence in our industry.

Shannon Binger, CEM
Sr. Manager, Meeting Services
American Thoracic Society

Dana Jasat, CEM
Manager, Exhibit Sales
International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA)

Farirai Nandipa Muregi
Farirai Nandipa Events

Helen Brett Scholarship Recipients

The Helen Brett™ Scholarship was established by Robert Kolinek, CEM, CMP, and named for his grandmother, Helen Brett, who was a pioneer in the trade show industry. The purpose of this scholarship is to assist individuals who are exploring the study of or working in the exhibitions and events management industry with the end goal of advancing their career in this field.

There were over 30 applications and 16 recipients, 13 of which, who are females, doing great things and striving for more, both personally and professionally!

  • Danielle Bellettiere – University of Central Florida – Rosen College of Hospitality Management
  • Rachel Figiela – Johnson & Wales University
  • Sarah Gurney – Johnson & Wales University
  • Alexandria LaRoche – California State University East Bay
  • Isabella Matei – Johnson & Wales University
  • Lydia Moreno – University of Central Florida – Rosen College of Hospitality Management
  • Erica Nossaman – Iowa State University
  • Amber Pankey – San Diego State University
  • Summer Skyler Peggie – Central Michigan University
  • Shiloh Schlauderaff – Iowa State University
  • Sandra Serrant – San Diego State University – Payne School of Hospitality Management & Tourism – Master’s Program
  • Rose Stanas – High Point University
  • Linda Tong – Iowa State University